Skip to Content

Regional Exchange Networks in Africa

Click on the icon to the left of the map title to expand the sidebar. To view the location of a particular school on the map, click on its name. To view specific regional networks, select or deselect the appropriate check boxes in the sidebar. You can also simply click on a marker on the map itself to find out which institution is located there.

Organizations across Africa are forming regional networks of institutional partners as a way forward to improve health through education, research, and capacity building to better serve the health care needs of their communities. GEMx is partnering with several African regional networks by serving as a facilitator of student exchanges in medicine and the health professions within these networks.

Who Are the African Networks Partnering with GEMx?

The regional networks currently partnering with GEMx are:

  • African Forum for Research and Education in Health (AFREhealth), a merger of the Medical Education Partnership Initiative (MEPI) and the Nurses Education Partnership Initiative (NEPI)
  • College of Ophthalmology of Eastern Central and Southern Africa (COECSA)
  • College of Pathologists of Central Eastern and Southern Africa (COPECSA)
  • Eastern Africa Health Professions Educators’ Association (EAHPEA)

To see the individual institutions participating within each network, please see Participating Networks and Institutions below.

How Does GEMx Facilitate Exchanges for these Networks?

GEMx assists with centralizing and operationalizing all student elective exchange activities through the GEMx Charter, a universal agreement among partner institutions within each network, and through its innovative web-based system for managing exchanges.

GEMx also provides partial financial support through ECFMG’s Challenge Grant program to eligible students who are selected by their institutions. These funds are made available to assist students when they go on an elective and to make exchanges more affordable.

About the Exchange Process

Interested students from participating institutions should contact their institution directly to determine whether they are eligible to participate in a regional exchange elective through GEMx. Students who meet the eligibility requirements should establish a GEMx account and contact the designated GEMx Program Manager at their institution for guidance. All application requirements, timelines, dates, and information on available electives are accessible through the GEMx web-based system.

For more information, please contact the GEMx Africa Representative, Ms. Faith Nawagi, at

Participating Networks and Institutions

AFREhealth (MEPI)

  • Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Kenya
  • Kabale University, Uganda
  • Kampala International University, Uganda
  • Kenyatta University, Kenya
  • Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana
  • Lúrio University, Mozambique
  • Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Uganda
  • School of Midwifery Bo, Sierra Leone
  • Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Sysmex, South Africa
  • University of Ibadan College of Medicine, Nigeria
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
  • The University of Zambia, Zambia
  • University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe

AFREhealth (NEPI)

  • Arthur Davison Children’s Hospital, Zambia
  • Ekwendeni College of Health Sciences, Malawi
  • Kamuzu College of Nursing, Malawi
  • Lusaka Schools of Nursing and Midwifery, Zambia
  • Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Uganda
  • Mildmay Institute of Health Sciences School of Nursing & Midwifery, Uganda
  • Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences, Tanzania
  • University of Ibadan School of Nursing, Nigeria

COECSA Participating Institutions

  • Lighthouse for Christ Eye Centre, Kenya
  • Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Uganda
  • Rwanda International Institute of Ophthalmology, Rwanda
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • The University Teaching Hospital, Zambia

COPECSA Participating Institutions

  • The Aga Khan University, Kenya
  • Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences, Tanzania
  • University of Botswana, Faculty of Medicine, Botswana
  • University of Nairobi, College of Health Sciences, School of Medicine, Kenya
  • University of Rwanda College of Medicine and Health Sciences, Rwanda
  • University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe

EAHPEA Participating Institutions

  • Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Uganda
  • Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Uganda
  • Mekelle University, Ethiopia
  • University of Rwanda, Rwanda
  • University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • University of Malawi, Malawi
Last updated: February 5, 2021.